#debates #twitter #hilarious

I don’t know how everyone else felt, but that debate gave me a headache. Politics aside, I just can’t stand all the interrupting, the talking over each other, the constant finger pointing and he-said-she-said instead of engagement with serious issues, the canned and by now stale responses that don’t really don’t say anything, etc. etc. If you were there, I’m probably preaching to the choir.

Although I had clear feelings about who’s right and who won, what I really wanted was some astute analysis about how the other side might see things. After realizing that I wasn’t going to get that from any tv reporters and couldn’t wait for David Greene to speak some sense to me in the morning in that silky smooth voice I love so much, I scoured the internet for other sources and stumbled upon . . . Twitter.

I know, I know, Twitter’s been around for like a billion years and it’s like the coolest thing ever and like everyone does it. Yeah, well, as of 37 minutes ago, this girl had two thumbs and had never used a hashtag. And now, she’s got two thumbs and a twitter handle. Sure, it’s just the one that Twitter assigned me because I can think of a cool one . . . (DolphinRenner. WTH?)

I went to Twitter because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of the debate, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not tweeted.

What I discovered was . . . awesome. Most important, I learned that it was not I alone who fell in love with Ken Bone, the adorable man in the red sweater who spoke the most coherent and intelligent sentence all night: “What steps will your energy policy take to meet our energy needs while at the same time remaining environmentally friendly and minimizing job layoffs?”

Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 10.28.44 PM.png

screen-shot-2016-10-09-at-10-30-32-pm

screen-shot-2016-10-09-at-10-31-21-pm

FOR GOD’S SAKE, THERE’S ALREADY A BUZZFEED ABOUT IT:  https://www.buzzfeed.com/juliareinstein/ken-bone-was-the-hero-the-debate-needed.

(Oh god, Ken Bone gone entirely viral. I’m so typical.)

Well, it’s going to take me awhile to figure out not only how to tweet but the etiquette around doing so. Do I like something or retweet it? I have a feeling that I’m always going to be about seven hours too late, if I’m lucky, but I’m sold on Twitter. Hilarity in 140 characters or less–who knew? Apparently, all you cool kids.

This.

screen-shot-2016-10-09-at-9-03-02-pm

And this (from the future husband I haven’t met yet).

screen-shot-2016-10-09-at-8-57-11-pm

2 thoughts on “#debates #twitter #hilarious

  1. Oh, Karen Thoreau, you’re providing some well-needed hilarity…

    Yes, thank goodness Ken Bone gave the viewers a few seconds of environmental policy talk. Between Trump (who calls climate change a hoax perpetrated by the Chinese) and Gary Johnson (who said the Earth is heading towards global warming anyway because the sun will envelop us in billions of years), there’s really only one choice in this race as far as the environment goes.

    So….have you decided to follow Trump’s twitter so that you can see CNN’s breaking news a few minutes before they air it?

    #DolphinRennerforPrez

Leave a Reply

