How I almost became a ghost hunter just like my boyfriend Zak Bagans.

A very strange but super cool thing happened to me about two years ago, and I didn’t tell many people (other than my students) because it seemed so silly and so unlikely to amount to anything. But here’s the deal.

Two years ago, I was sitting in my office, and I suddenly get this email:

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 11.13.12 AMI’m like, “Hahaha–this has gotta be a joke,” but I also fire back a reply in about 2.3 seconds (not desperate or anything).

I get this answer:

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 10.50.22 AM

Long story short, I end up doing a Skype interview a few days later, and the lovely casting producer and I have a wonderful conversation and really bond, and I think, “Holy crap, I’m gonna hunt some ghosts” (though technically my job was to be the surly skeptic, I think). And then I NEVER HEAR FROM HER AGAIN.

Last night, my lovely neighbor Hayley showed me an episode of The Dead Files, and who is the production company on it? PAINLESS PRODUCTIONS. And I’m like AAARGH, that was supposed to be my show. I mean, can’t you see it?

WmLshCZHvDI.market_maxres

Anyway, I had a big sulk last night. And then I woke up this morning and realized that I had more important goals in life looked up the show on IMDb and discovered that it’s been on the air since 2011, so it can’t possibly be the show that I was being considered for.

So, can we cross fingers across America that Karen gets another chance at ghost-hunting silliness?

 

Leave a Reply

